

UNIFIED FIRE AUTHORITY/UNIFIED FIRE SERVICE AREA JOINT MEETING MINUTES

May 18, 2021 8:30 a.m.

Electronically Via ZOOM Webinar/UFA Headquarters – 3380 South 900 West SLC, UT 84119

- 1. <u>Call to Order</u> Chair Overson called the meeting to order at 8:31 a.m.
- 2. <u>Public Comment</u> None Public comment was made available live and with a posted email address
- 3. <u>Minutes Approval</u>

Council Member Stewart moved to approve the minutes from the September 17, 2019 UFA/UFSA Joint Meeting as submitted Council Member Perry seconded the motion

All voted in favor, none opposed

4. <u>Open and Public Meetings Training</u>

This training is an annual requirement for the Board and given by CLO Roberts and UFSA District Administrator Anderson

- Meetings must be open to the public, and the agenda posted through the State of Utah Agenda Website, at the EOC, and both UFA/UFSA websites
- In order to take final action on an item, the item needs to be listed and noticed on the agenda
- Discussed close meeting requirements and why meetings need to be recorded vs. not recorded
- Currently the minutes serve as the official record for both organizations at this time
- Attention must be given to emails, when replying, please do not reply to all, decisions cannot be made outside of regularly held board meetings
- Agenda prep meetings are held prior to UFA/UFSA meetings to ensure Board Chairs are involved in agenda construction, understand upcoming issues in order to direct the process, and to verify that the agenda states what is intended
- Final approval of the agenda is done by the Board Chair
- Goal is to publish the agenda the Friday before the Board Meeting, rather than 24 hours prior to the meeting
- 5. <u>Possible Closed Session</u> None

6. <u>Adjournment</u>

Council Member Stewart moved to adjourn the meeting Council Member Bailey seconded this motion All voted in favor, none opposed

BOARD MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Council Member Kathleen Bailey Mayor Robert Dahle Council Member Trish Hull Mayor Robert Hale Mayor Kristie Overson Council Member Allan Perry Deputy Mayor Catherine Kanter Council Member Sheldon Stewart Mayor Jeff Silvestrini Mayor Harris Sondak Mayor Tom Westmoreland Council Member Dea Theodore

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Council Member Chrystal Butterfield Council Member Gary Bowen Council Member Jared Henderson Mayor Dan Knopp Mayor Mike Peterson

STAFF IN ATTENDANCE: CFO Tony Hill CLO Roberts Cynthia Young, Clerk

STAFF ABSENT: Chief Petersen

OTHER ATTENDEES: AC Burchett AC Pilgrim AC Higgs Arriann Woolf OC Dern Captain Bogenschutz Captain Bogenschutz Captain Park Captain Conn Captain Simons Calogero Ricotta Captain Greensides

Division Chief Case Division Chief Larson Division Chief Ball Division Chief Robinson Division Chief Torgersen Chris Rogers Erica Langenfass Ginger Watts Kiyoshi Young Kate Turnbaugh Lana Burningham

Larson Wood Local 1696 Matt McFarland Nile Easton, DOC Patrick Costin Rachel Anderson, UFSA Shelli Fowlks Surveyor Demman Steve Bowen Tim Tingey, CWH Wendy Thomas