

## UNIFIED FIRE AUTHORITY/UNIFIED FIRE SERVICE AREA JOINT MEETING MINUTES

April 19, 2022

Electronically Via ZOOM Webinar/UFA Headquarters – 3380 South 900 West SLC, UT 84119

## 1. Call to Order

Chair Westmoreland called the meeting to order at 8:39 a.m.

#### 2. Public Comment

None

Public comment was made available live and with a posted email address

#### 3. <u>Minutes Approval</u>

Council Member Hull moved to approve the minutes from the May 18, 2021 UFA/UFSA Joint Meeting as submitted

Mayor Overson seconded the motion

All voted in favor, none opposed

#### 4. Open and Public Meetings Training

This training is an annual requirement for the Board and given by CLO Roberts and UFSA District Administrator Anderson

- Meetings must be open to the public, and the agenda posted through the State of Utah Agenda Website, at the EOC, and both UFA/UFSA websites
- In order to take final action on an item, the item needs to be listed and noticed on the agenda
- Discussed close meeting requirements and why meetings need to be recorded vs. not recorded
- Currently the minutes serve as the official record for both organizations at this time
- Attention must be given to emails, when replying, please do not reply to all, decisions cannot be made outside of regularly held board meetings
- Agenda prep meetings are held prior to UFA/UFSA meetings to ensure Board Chairs are involved in agenda construction, understand upcoming issues in order to direct the process, and to verify that the agenda states what is intended
- Final approval of the agenda is done by the Board Chair
- Goal is to publish the agenda the Friday before the Board Meeting, rather than 24 hours prior to the meeting
- Due to electronic means for attending/delivering the meetings, any Nay vote initiates the need for a roll call vote

#### 5. Possible Closed Session

None

# 6. Adjournment

Mayor Silvestrini moved to adjourn the meeting Council Member Stewart seconded this motion All voted in favor, none opposed

### **BOARD MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:**

Council Member Kathleen Bailey
Council Member Chrystal Butterfield
Council Member Catherine Harris
Council Member Catherine Harris
Mayor Robert Dahle
Council Member Sheldon Stewart
Surveyor Reid Demman
Council Member Trish Hull
Mayor Tom Westmoreland
Mayor Marcus Stevenson
Council Member Dea Theodore

Mayor Marcus Stevenson Mayor Dan Knopp

Council Member Jared Henderson

### STAFF IN ATTENDANCE:

CFO Tony Hill DA Rachel Anderson Chief Burchett Cynthia Young, Clerk

**CLO Roberts**